Jamo S 803 speaker to PC Setup Help

Hi all,

Just another sound noob here. I just bought a pair of the Jamo S 803 Speakers from Amazon, thinking that I could simply connect them to my PC. Obviously, that isn’t the case, which is why I’m here for some advice…

I know I need an AMP, not sure if I need a DAC. I also have a pair of the beyerdynamic dt 770 pro 80hms that I will be using, so I’m hoping for something that can work with as well.

I’m not an audiophile, I just need something that works decently (I won’t ever use them above like 70% volume) and I’d like all-in-one devices if possible (smaller and cheaper the better)! My budget is a hard cap at 200$ USD and preferably 150$ or lower range. Here are some of the DAC/AMPs I’ve been considering.

• the SMSL AD18

• the SMSL sa-300

• the SMSL DA-8 NJW1194

I’m honestly so lost here as to what I need to buy. As for cables, I was recommended to buy “banana plugs, that are insulated” like these: https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-Oxygen-Free-Copper-Speaker/dp/B00NB4T6RK. It’s my understanding that I’ll need to buy two of these cables, since I have a pair of speakers?

Now what cables would I need to connect whatever DAC/AMP i get to my actual PC?

Sorry for the long message, I hope someone can help!

If this is going to be a desktop setup, I think you should go for the Topping MX3. It’s got good enough power for those Jamo (which are hard to drive), and a good DAC and headphone amp. It’s also like $140.

The SMSL AD18 is the direct competitor. The difference is the power on the speaker end, the DAC isn’t as good, and the headphone amplifier can be lacking but I don’t think you’d have a problem. I’d go for this for more of a living room setup-style.

For these two, plug USB from your computer and you’ll be good.

I have a SA300 and LOVE it, but it’s kinda overkill, the DAC is fine, and has no headphone out.