JDS Labs Atom Amp vs. SoundBlaster G6

I recently purchased a JDS Labs Atom Amp to step up my Sound Blaster G6. I have spent all day listening to high quality music files switching between the Atom and G6, and for the life of me I cannot hear much if any difference. Granted, I’m fairly new to the audiophile world and probably don’t have as sensitive listening skills yet as many others. I certainly hear differences between different headphones (listed below), but as for switching between the Atom and G6, it doesn’t seem like a necessary upgrade. If the G6 powers my headphones enough, is the Atom providing any other benefit? Considering just selling it since I don’t plan to upgrade to any harder-to-drive headphones.

Current Headphones:

• Beyerdynamic DT 880 Limited Edition Chrome (250 ohm)
  • Vokyl Erupt
  • HiFiMan HE-4XX

Are there any guides or tips for critical listening when testing different gear? I’ve done plenty of headphone tests for frequency response, bass extension, dynamic range, etc. It just seems the Atom isn’t really adding anything to my setup.

Most of the $100 regions won’t sound very different. You will get some different characteristics but they will be fairly minor less your like… comparing an atom to the spark of which the spark is definitely warmer and dials in the treble. I would assume they sound similar as the g6 is a fairly clean amp/dac despite being gamer oriented. It’s not bad but if I recall correctly the Atom is much stronger in terms of an amp. If you don’t plan to upgrade and don’t hear a difference I would say do like your thinking and toss the atom in that regard. Despite what some forums say bout combo units they definitely aren’t bad lol. G6, x3, and schiit hel are all very good sounding combo units with quite a bit of power to back them. Though you will probably hear more of a sound difference if you pair the atom to other particular dacs.