Lets talk about 3D Printers

I’ve been interested for a while about 3D printers. but i have next to no knowledge of them. I’m a complete newb. Are there any videos out there or discussion boards like hifiguides that discuss it?

I was interested in the Monoprice Select Mini 3D Printer V2. Its nice and cheap and seems to have all the bells and whistles at 219$ Ive also heard the Prusa Mini is great 350$ both these print at 7X7 area.

But I was thinking i would like to get the best bang for the buck. Is 7X7 enough or should i go for a bigger print area? Lol i dont even know what i want to print on it. Is there a Sundara of 3D printers out there? What are the key features i should be looking for?

The Prusa stuff is really well thought out, I’d recommend something you can get support with if you don’t have someone who can help diagnose issues. It’s not overly complex, but if you’ve not worked through it before determining what’s causing an issue can be frustrating.
Personally if you don’t have a friend that can help, buy the Prusa and get used to using it.

There are a LOT of Chinese printers available, some of them are quite good, but it’s not unusual to get them DOA, requiring some debugging to get them working. It’s easier to make a good small format printer cheaply, but there are some OK cheaper large format printers I have a 12x12 creality printer that is OK, I did replace the bed and sensor on it to make it reliable though.

Most of the active forums are manufacturer specific, forums.reprap.org, is pretty active, but it’s more about design and modding.

FWIW I’ve been into 3D printers for a long time, I own probably 10 of them, some I designed and built from scratch.

1 Like