Looking for an upgrade from Astros A40 TR

Hello! I am currently looking for an upgrade from my Astros A40 TR, I had bought them because supposedly they were the best gaming headphones at the time but for some reason they would be some things i can’t hear that my friend with $50 turtle beaches can hear. I am now branching out to “non gaming “ headphones because I heard those are the best for all things gaming. I am looking for the best headphones for FPS games like Warzone where footsteps, directional audio, and sound differentiation is important. I’m new to this so I don’t really know anything about sound stage or anything but i heard with warzone you want a small sound stage? I don’t have a budget, I just want the best of the best for soundwhoring and pinpointing my enemies location. I play on PS5 so I can’t really use anything that requires a large source for driving them. I also have the astros mixamp if that should be necessary.

The biggest thing you are missing out on is bloated bass compared to the cheap Turtle Beaches :smiley:

Two somewhat important questions:

1. Do you need a microphone?
    Maybe you have something else you use anyway, if not, this should be considered.

2. How noisy are your surroundings?
    While open-backs generally have a better soundstage and a more even signature, that is of little use when you sit in a steel mill while gaming :wink:

A wide open soundstage gives you a better chance to pinpoint where a sound comes from.
If it weren’t for the attached cable (= 3m/9ft long) and hit-or-miss headband system (it either works wonderfully for medium to large heads, or does not work at all), I could recommend the AudioTechnica ATH-AD500x.

While I have no experience with them, the ATH-PDG1 may be worth looking into.

From memory, the Beyerdynamic Custom Game did okay for positional. With the sliders fully open, I liked them more than the DT-770’s (also Beyerdynamic). Sliders closed the bass was a bit “muddy”.