Looking for audio setup suggestions for fps gaming

Hi everyone,

I am new to PC gaming and looking for a proper set of headphones/headsets. I play escape from tarkov where footsteps are life or death and other tactical games primarily. I have some Sony Bluetooth headphones that i use for music but they just don’t cut it for games like tarkov.

So here I am, i am looking for;

-headphones/modmic pairing or headsets but must be wired
-good imaging/sound stage for competitive shooters but that can still be EQed for a more
cinematic experience for RTS/RPG games
-Closed back with good noise isolation
-My budget is about $200 CAD but i can push it up to low 300ish after tax max if needed
-Good directional audio for peak sound whoring
-detachable mic is a plus but not a requirement
-angled drivers if possible
-detachable cable
-Good build quality so it doesn’t break within a year

Some that I’ve been considering are;
-Steelseries Arctis Pro + GameDac
-Fostex T50RPMK3
-HIFIMAN HE400i
-HyperX Cloud Alpha

I am leaning more towards the Arctis Pro but heard conflicting reports on it

Let me know what you guys think and if there are any other headphone/mod mic or headsets you can recommend.

Thanks

Some conflicting issues here.

400i and the fostex are not closed back. 400i is open back and those fostex are semi open.

Unfortunately as it appears you do not have an amp this appears extremely limiting as far as budget is concerned. You’d potentially be stuck with gamer headsets less you have an amp to back up the headphone

Trying to achieve this in your budget is practically not existent, least not for something as demanding as tarkov.

Cant really say gaming headsets are going to last

None of these perform that well in tarkov. Especially not that fostex.

Its decent… depends on the game. Personally I really don’t think its worth its price whatsoever

I’m a bit conflicted on recommendations here… there are a few ampless options but they may not be obtainable or drivable.