Looking for ideas for upgrading my DAC/Amp

Hi guys,

I’m pretty new to the hobby so please forgive my lack of knowledge in this area. I am looking for ideas on improving my headphone dac/amp and getting gear that i can grow into.

I listen mostly to portable gear so far with a decent selection of budget to TOTL iems. I mostly stream using my Galaxy S22 into either an iFi xDSD gryphon or a FiiO BTR7. I’m pretty happy with these , however Im looking to improve my desktop setup. For this I mostly stream off my PC into a Scarlett 8i6 audio interface and then a SMSL M500 Mk III. I currently have a small selection of headphones, including a HE1000 v2, Dan Clark Aeon 2 noire, 6XX, and Focal Clear.

I see that the Bifrost 2/64 + Burson Soloist 3xp combo is pretty popular, but I want to make sure im headed in the right direction before i drop $2k more into my chain.

I’d like to get the most open, spacious, detailed sound from my current cans and set myself up well for future purchases of higher impedence headphones.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I think the Bifrost/Soloist combo would serve you well. I don’t own the Bifrost, but I have used it extensively and for two days recently comparing it to the new Modi Multibit 2 and I would say that it is the best DAC I have heard in it’s price range for staging and rendering spacial cues. I do own the Yggdrasil and when I was demoing TOTL headphones recently it paired very, very well with the HE1000SE in particular and I think the Bifrost brings a lot of the same mojo to the table as the Yggy. I have owned a few Burson products as well, though not the Soloist 3XP, and I have always found their amps to be very musical and top notch performers. Given all that, I don’t think you can go wrong with that combo.

FWIW, I have also always found the DCS/MrSpeakers Aeon and Ether series headphones I have owned at various points to have a nice synergy with my various Burson amps and combos.

1 Like