Looking for open back headphones for FPS games compatible with the V-Moda Boom Pro Mic

Hi, I’m quite new to buying headphones, buying generic ones in the past. I’m looking for headphones for competitive FPS gaming on Modern Warfare for example (hearing footsteps etc.) that are compatible with the V-Moda Boom Pro Mic. I know open back is what I’m looking for in that regard, and something with a detachable wire to plug in the mic wire. My budget is £200

I’ve done my own research and found:

• Philips SHP9500
  • Sivga SV007
  • Audio Technica WS1100is
  • Fidelio L2

However, I’ve no idea which of these (or if there are any other options) that would be best for my needs. Any suggestions would be great, thanks!

9500 would more than likely be your best bet here… but you are limiting yourself quite heavily relying on the v moda… recommend looking into a dedicated mic or a modmic down the road so you have more options for your gaming…

Do keep in mind that headphones are also more demanding than headsets. If you do not have an amp and your headphone is too quiet it means your motherboard or console Is incapable of using that headphone without an amp.

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice. The V Moda was only £15 so if it’s limiting me, I won’t let it tie me down.

If I went with a modmic or dedicated mic, which headphone/headset would you recommend?

Depends is this for pc or console. If pc what motherboard?

It’s for PC. The motherboard is a Gigabyte B550 Aorus Pro AC

Sl1220a with 120db rear capacitors…

You should be okay with a 250 ohm headphone but I’d encourage finding a way to test this through some form of return policies.

Considering your not in the USA I assume drop is out so I cant recommend 58x.

Toss up

Ad700x best budget next to shp9500

Akg k702 has some image issues and priced stupid so need to shop around. Works fine

Sennheiser hd 598 classic all rounder was discontinued but can be found