Looking for open back planar upgrade from T50RPs. Monoprice open back planars

I’m relatively new to this hobby, I have some headphones, but recently started to dig deeper into this.

For reference I have the following cans:

Fostex T50RP (slightly modded, pads changed)
Hyperx Cloud Orbit (Audeze Mobius minus BT and head tracking)
Takstar HI2050 (pads changed)
Superlux HD681 (pads changed)
Koss UR40 (pads changed)
Taotronics Soundsurge 46 (for the NC)
plus a couple of IEMs, TWS earbuds

Right now I’m looking for an open back large planar as a next step. I’m about to get a Monoprice open back planar headphone, but it’s hard to decide between the following 3 options:

1060 (194 EUR)
1060C (to be opened) (220 EUR)
1070 (288 EUR)

I’m not afraid to mod any of them :slight_smile:

I know that Monoprice is very polarizing, but I’d like to give them a try.

Your suggestions are highly appreciated!

Ps.: I’m in Europe, so no access to good price to value ratio audio gear like in the USA. Also, no Drop, or affordable Hifiman (4XX, 400i, etc) available (only with crazy additional costs that make financially non viable)

But for a bit more :euro: you could have a Hifiman Sandara which would be my choice :+1:

2 Likes

Sundara in my opinion would be a better way to go if you can make it work. @Ohmboy is correct.

Thanks for the suggestion. However a bit worried of the infamous Hifiman QC. Also, I heard that it’s a bit bass light… Also, as I’ve seen in the past, that Hifiman starts at crazy prices and in a few years go down like crazy (Sundara original price was 500 EUR, now 350 EUR), I guess this could go down to where the rest of the cheap Hifimans are at around 160-170 USD (at least in the USA, in Europe we only can dream of the prices in the USA…)
So I’m afraid that a HIfiman product is losing its value even more than any other brand on the market…