Looking for small-ish desktop speakers for music

Hey everyone! I’m tossing around the idea of getting a pair of speakers for my desk, so I don’t have to wear headphones all day while working from home. They’ll mainly be used for music, and sometimes Youtube. I have a picture of my setup below. As you can see, real estate is a bit limited, so I’m looking for something with a smaller footprint. I don’t really feel like I need a subwoofer, as I’m not a bass junkie and won’t be cranking the volume most of the time. That said, I’m not opposed to a 2.1 setup if that turns out to be the best option. I mainly listen to progressive metal and classic rock.

My budget is $200, maaaaybe $300 if you can convince me that it’s worth it. After watching a bunch of Z reviews, I’m gravitating towards the Neumi BS5 and Dayton MK402, mainly due to their size and price, and maybe the Micca RB42s (and something to power them of course, which I have no experience with). I do have a pair of JBL104s in my bedroom that I could move in here, and get a different pair for the bedroom TV, which would relax the size requirements a bit. Looking forward to hearing what you guys suggest! Thanks!

I’m currently using Fluance Ai40s. Powered and right around 200 USD. They’re sealed so you don’t have to worry about being up against a wall. It depends on how big your space is. I had them in a tiny student housing bedroom with no capeting and they got a bit boomy and the standing waves were noticeable. Also they have a 5 inch woofer so they’re not exactly what most people consider small desktop speakers but since you’re considering the BS5s I figured you’re fine with that size.

I don’t really have experience with the RB42s but I had a pair of PB42x. I moved to sealed speakers when I moved and had to put them up against a wall. I really didn’t like how they sounded close to the wall, but otherwise I really liked my PB42s. I imagine the RB42s are even better.