Looking for some guidance Headphone+amp (newbie)

Howdy,
I’m new to this scene, and I’m most certainly new to hi-fi headphones.
I’m looking for different price suggestions for a headphone + amp combo. (maybe dec too?).

1: for £350

2: for £550

Usage:
-Games. Mostly fps (sometimes competitive)
-Music : Trance mostly, techno, rock… but mostly electronical.
-Streaming, video editing.
-Game development

I was suggested to try DT 990 600 ohm , but I’m also thinking about getting dt 880 600 ohm, however on other topics it was mentioned that they might not be the best for my music taste… but would that still be the case with a BasX A-100 amp?
Thanks.

1 Like

Welcome!

The greatest part of listening with headphones regardless of the useage really comes more from the actual headphone itself…for the most part.

The amp and “dac” are important but the headphone itself is the most important part…and if you buy and do not like the sound, there is not a lot you can do to change this “alot”…

Best to listen to the headphones if you can with your “stuff” and make the decision more informed.

I think the BasX A-100 amp is a Class D amp and most headphone folks would shy away from a class D amp…

It may work very well…depends on the headphone circuit in it and how well it can play with the headphones your looking at. (600 ohm).

All the best!
Alex

Correction: its not a class d amp!! (thanks mon) saw this in a review, mentioned Class D…)

For what you are planning to do, I think the 880 600 ohm makes a lot of sense imo. It works very well for games, is enjoyable for music, and is preferred for editing and content creation. You could grab a lake people g103s and a topping E30 and be set imo

It’s a class a/b speaker amp which can output fully through its headphone output, it’s nice for speakers but personally I think it’s not ideal for headphones (noisy, high output impedance, doesn’t sound as good as a dedicated headphone amp imo)

4 Likes