Looking to upgrade SHP9500S for gaming

Quick disclaimer, i’m still a newb when it comes to audio and i’m still learning.

My current setup for gaming right now is the SHP9500S with the fiio e10k and a modmic 5. I’ve been using the SHP9500S for about 3 years now. The sound-stage and imaging have been okay from my experience. I have a hard time locating enemies if they are directly in front, behind and above me. I can only hear enemies when they’re like 15ft away from. Teammates and friends have been able to pinpoint easier than i have.

I’ve done a bit of research here and there and came up with some options to pick from based on other popular choices that i liked and would like to get some perspective from people who have used these headphones to help me pick one out. My budget for headphones is $200 or below. For headphones that required a stronger amp, my budget for amps is $100 or below.

• HD599
  • DT990
  • DT880
  • TYGR 300R
  • ATH-AD700X
  • ATH-AD900X

For amp upgrade, if needed, I was thinking between the magni 3+/heresy and the atom. Any other suggestions and opinions, for headphones and amps, would be appreciated as well.

Edit: I just relised that some of these headphones currently at the time of posting this may be more expensive but at some other time were/are below $200 because of the covid price gauging and probably out of stock in other places i think.

Where are you currently located?

If your priority is specifically gaming, you will want something that is treble forward (for the footsteps and gunshots) and also have good sound stage + imaging.

Out of the equipment you mentioned, I would recommend either of the Beyers but you should get the 600 ohm variant, which means you’ll likely upgrade your amp.

I would recommend the Atom, followed by the Heresy, whichever you can land cheaper.

It’ll be a touch above your budget after taxes and shipping though.