Micro iDSD vs ~$300 desktop stack?

Hey Guys,

TL;DR, the title. What are the quality differences going to be between a micro iDSD and a dedicated, well bought stack?

Background: I am new to the game and looking into what equipment to get. There are 2 main considerations for me though.

1. My time to listen to music is almost exclusively while walking around my house doing chores.
  2. I know that I want to try argons when I can get my hands on some as they seem to be exactly what I want from a headphone

With the dimensions of iDSD (and recognizing that none of them have BT), I don’t think it will be an issue to carry around home at all (my chore pants have absurd pockets) even with the dongle to my phone (I dont need a setup for when I am out, but I do need to be able to walk around the house). My question is, with the black label typically going for $300-350 (and the silver $150-250), would I be missing some pretty significant sonic qualities over a well bought desktop stack of similar pricing? Will the Micro iDSD work fairly well as an entry level desktop amp when I do use it at my desk as well?

Also, side note, if my assumption that the iDSD will run things like argons and 880 600ohms well while something like a BTR5 or even Xduoo XD-05 will not is wrong, please let me know.

EDIT: I forgot to mention. The vast majority of the music I listen to is basically orchestral hip-hop/lo-fi. So think big, grandiose, use of strings, but still a pretty fair smooth (no big impacts typically) base focus. I do also listen to a fair bit of jazz piano, but I am quite satisfied with my pandas for that

Micro iDSD is a powerful all in one that is portable. to get a stack comparable in quality, I think you’d need to spend more than $300 if you want a similar ‘warm’ sound signature the Burr Brown DAC have.

for a wee bit more, you could get the Geshelli Labs JNOG DAC and one of their amps.

1 Like