Need Help/Advice for Setups with New Headphones

I recently purchased Audio Technica’s ATHM40x’s and Philips SHP9500’s for casual gaming/music/shows. First off, did I make a decent purchase? Are there any better for a similar price? I also would like to use a microphone with my headphones because I play with people most of the time and I am not able to find the VMODA BoomPro Microphone. I’m new to dac’s, amps, and decent headphones really, so any advice with this would be very helpful.

Hello welcome!

To be honest, I am going to take the generic response of only you can answer that question, especially if you are new. Don’t worry about receiving any confirmation. Plenty of people here come from different walks of life, priorities, and sound preferences. You’ll have your head spin so many times by just trying to get that confirmation.

I’d let your experiences speak for themselves. Try them for a week, see what you think. Why did you buy two headphones? With that being said, you can compare the two, see which you like better. Ultimately, you need to find for your own preferences too.

Do you prefer a lot of detail retrieval? Sound stage? Presentation? Timbre? Bass? etc etc.

Best of luck on your journey.

1 Like

In regards to mics for casual gaming, I liked ModMic for quite a while, but they can get up there in price. Eventually, I switched to a Samson Q2U by mounting it to the side of my desk. It is much clearer, but not as portable, obviously.

Thanks for the response. I bought two headphones to test open back vs closed back and everything in-between. Mics are what I was really looking for and I’ll look into your recommendation.