Need ideas for budget ($300~) setup

I’ve been using the Razer V2X for the past 6 months and they’re fine, but I’m tired of having a super long cable routed to the back of my motherboard, so I’d like to get a dac/amp (a combo? can I just get a dac?) that sits on the top of my desk for easier access; but if I’m going to do that I think I’d also want to look at some kind of headphone upgrade. I currently have the KSC75, Starfields, CAL!, and the Sony WF-1000MX4. I kinda like the overall sound of the starfields but they don’t have much low end at all for me. The Blackshark V2X have decent enough low end (with eq) but everything else is… subpar for music. the CAL! isn’t that great either, nothing about the sound particularly seems great to me so I don’t use them.

TLDR I’d like something with good low end but also not while not totally sacrificing everything else + also being in budget for around $300-$350 or less getting me a dac/amp + the headphone, if that’s possible?

1 Like

Kind of a hard one, I feel like most open backs at that budget just won’t have enough bass for your taste, maybe just save some cash and get a k371, or maybe look into the sivga phoenix.

sivga phoenix look interesting… what would be good to pair them with dac/amp wise?

Nah, he can get something like suede padded shp9500 and get some pretty hefty bass, beyers can do the same with a pad swap. Not so sure on sennheiser but 599 and 558 are pretty bassy. X2hr is of course bassy since it’s a warm headphone. Tygr 300r fits in there but has more control. Sivga is alright but may not fit everyone’s head. Most of what I listed can be ran ampless actually and still fit that bassier sound with a fair balance

If you want my recommend though? Extend budget grab argons or a nighthawk carbon if you can find one(both semi open)

Almost forgot helios and zeus fit in this as well

1 Like