Need Suggestions:Entry Level Setup

Hello Everyone
I am complete noob here and would require your guidance to build an entry level audio setup(headphone + dac/amp ). After reading so many posts over here I kinda want DT 880 (600 ohm to be my headphones .As for Dac/amp , I had initially selected Schiit stack but they don’t have mic option which is very important to me.
Please suggest dac/audio interface+amp with below requirements :

Requirements :
Should be able to use on: PC/ IPad
Should be able to drive dt800 600ohms to its potential.
Dac/audio interface with mic + separate amp
Budget :250-300$

Setup would mostly be used for gaming (80%)and music (20%)

Thank you.

Since the vast majority of your time with your cans will be spent with gaming, have you considered an audiophile-quality can that is built for gamers like the Sennheiser PC38X?

It’s an excellent gaming headphone that also happens to sound good with music: Drop + Sennheiser PC38X Gaming Headset | Audiophile | Headphones | Open Back Headphones

$170, and you’re done.

1 Like

I agree that pc38x is an amazing gaming headset but I kinda want to build a setup using dac/amp which is scalable.

Wouldn’t a dt880 600ohm with dac/amp outperform pc38x?

You have the Mayflower ARC Mk2 that has mic input, but I’ve read that that they don’t power the DT 880 600 ohm that well.

If having a mic input is very important then I’d look into Mayflower ARC Mk2 compined with Beyerdynamic DT 900 PRO X, a pair that should be easier to drive. I’ve heard alot of good reviews for competative play with the DT 900 Pro X, some call it wall hack tier. But I havn’t tried it myself.

Here’s a few links worth looking at:

1 Like

curious, you can just get a modmic that attaches to the headphone… or a dedicated mic such as a form of usb connection. though ones with mic inputs will be extremely lacking. Is there a specific reason for needing the mic input?