New setup, DAC/AMP/Headphone/Speaker help please!

Hi there,

Currently I’m a student who’s been working on his room during lockdown, managed to redo my desk pick up a new PC, TV and a monitor to play games/watch movies. I’m up to the final stage which is audio and I have left this till last as I am not that confident in my abilities.

I have a budget of approx. 1.2k AUD (Approx 850 usd).

I was looking at putting together a system with the following.

2.1 bookshelf speakers (basshead) – primarily used for listening to music, secondary watching movies (approx. 90/10 ratio) – sub not a must but would be nice

Headphones I’m going to use for gaming, both on my PC and Xbox One (I have an external mic I will be using)

Unfortunately, my PC does not have optical out so the plan in my head is to use usb out and then input optical for my Xbox One on the same DAC.

I would like an amp; however this is the part where I get confused so any help would be appreciated. I think separate DAC amps look cool but not a must.

I was looking for a speaker amp with headphone output and sub connection however this is where all my audio knowledge is down the drain.

My plan was:

Edifier s350dbs or s360dbs (also considered SWAN M200MKIII & EDIFIER S2000pro)

With an MX3 DAC

Headphones no clue

Honestly really open to any suggestions powered or unpowered speakers, headphones I’m just really looking to throw together something nice I know my budget isn’t huge but I’m sure I could get more by asking for help or before I go and purchase something that doesn’t work or correctly fulfil my needs.
Have no clue if what I seek is even possible or feasible.

Please help me, much appreciated! Hope you’re all staying safe during this time!

Hello,

Do think about to buy a older Stereosystem with good Speakers on the aftermarket,connect a Dac on it and enjoy.And so you have a bit more Money for a better Headphone.

Hey mate,

Thanks for your response!