New to the audio world looking for new cans

Hey Everyone!

I’m extremely new to the audio world and frankly all the information that is posted here and on Zeo’s videos has lead me down a rabbit hole I don’t see the bottom of. Currently I am looking for a new headset with some specs I recently just found out about thanks to Zeo’s and this form and was hoping I could get some suggestions and advice.

My budget isn’t a hard budget but I would like to keep the price range around $300 if possible but that can be pushed in either direction especially if it is exactly what I am looking for.

My current headset that I am looking to replace is a Razer tiamat 7.1 (yes I know I bought into the gamer headset craze like most others please forgive me). I am looking for a few things in a headset that I plan to use for both gaming and music.

Preferneces include: Closed back, over the ear, detachable cord (wanted to go wireless but the quality decrease I have learned is not worth it) and can be used for competitive gaming (based on Zeo’s buying guide)

For games I would use these for, I play WoW, LoL and other casual games as well as some of the Battle royale games such as The Hunt: Showdown and other FPS like Valorant and CS:GO so precision would be nice.

For music I listen to a very wide range of stuff from classical to heavy metal/rock as well as EDM and even some Binaural beats for meditation.

Lastly I am not against using a DAC/AMP I just haven’t delved too deep into that realm as of yet so feel free to recommend those as well.

Thanks for any assistance in advance!

1 Like

Hmmm, perhaps something like an akg k371 would be pretty nice, that also wouldn’t really need a dac/amp either, works well for a wider variety of genre and I think it could be used for competitive for time to time. It’s got good detail with a nice tuning, and pretty decent soundstage and imaging for the price

2 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply M0N!