Newbie Headphone Help

Hello!

I’m new to the whole headphones and audio stuff and after watching some of Z’s videos, you know I had to go buy something! Problem is, can’t afford much, so here are the one’s I’m looking at (that are available in my region) :

• the AKG K361 (or K371? I know Z said to buy K361 instead in his video, but it seems like metal571 really likes K371 and has bought himself a pair. Since I can’t go to a store and try it out myself, your advise or experiences will help!)
  • the brainwavz hm5 (should I even consider it? People are saying that it’s still pretty darn good)
  • or should I just save up for a few months and get the Philips SHP9500?

Some more context - I listen mostly to rock and metal and occasionally some classical and jazz. I don’t need it for gaming, I already have a separate gaming headset. I own a pair of AKG K77 Perceptions and I like how they sound but holy crap, are they uncomfortable! I don’t need the headphones for any professional recording or anything (yet), just looking to get something that’ll let me enjoy music for long hours while I work.

Any other recommendations in the same price range are also welcome.

Thanks in advance!

hey bb, there are a few details we need to know so we can truly be helpful.

1. what is your budget?
  2. what kind of music do you like? you may enjoy a lot of genre’s, but tell us what you mostly listen to.
  3. what equipment will you use it with? do you have a DAC or a headphone amp? or using desktop? notebook? phone? tablet?

this will give us some direction so we can point you the right way! :smiley:

3 Likes

There’s two closed-backs and one open-back listed here. Curious if we can figure out the usage/need for that designation first. Budget has been requested, helpful.