Newcomer looking for advice regard a setup

Hello Guys, as the title suggest, i am new to this hobby and I would like to get some advice regarding a Gaming Setup.

The budget is around 800-850$ for whole setup.

I am intending to use the headphones through an old computer (realtek ALC1150 Chip in the mobo), so I fiugured I would need to replace that since it wont give me optimal results.

the use will be split bewteen gaming(casually, GTA,Minecraft,COD), music(Spotify) and some youtube videos.I Mostly listen to Pop,Rock and Metal.
It is important to include a decent mic for communicating through Discord.

I have done some digging about the DAC\AMP options and Audio Interfaces, but I couldnt figure how will it work with a mic.

I am not sure if i should get a dac\amp combo with mic input (Mayflower Arc mk2 for example) or split it into DAC+AMP Stack, or getting an audio interface like the Motu M2 would suffice.

I have looked into the mmx300 gen 2(currently 279 us$) and the DT177x(currently 400 us$).

Looking for your advice on how to run such a setup with a mic included.

Thank you guys for your time.

Hey there, Welcome to hifiguides.

I would say an entry level probably won’t need this much cash flow less you are planning to buy like a speaker setup as well or something. Generally, for an entry you would be looking at around $550 or so

Sounds like you would appreciate something with some bass then, I see you play cod would you consider yourself a competitive gamer or just strictly casual?

Depends on the mic. Audio interfaces are for XLR microphones but you can get away with just using USB microphones to skip the interface all together. You can also just get a modmic which attaches to any headphone and turns it into a headset. As for connection dac/amp to the interface, you would want an amp ran to the interface as the interface itself is a dac. Some interfaces may offer a 3.5mm jack as well same with the combo unit amp/dacs but this really isn’t necessary.