Please recommend me a good Combo for "mobile" use

Hi, since I switched to the iFi Zen DAC v2 + HiFiMan HE400SE for my desktop solution, I’m starting to fall in love with music again.
Now I need something portable to enjoy on the go. I’m a complete noob when it comes to this topic. So what would you suggest as a “mobile” solution ? DAC/AMP-Dongle ? DAP ?..
I was thinking about getting planar IEMs Dioko plus some sort of Dongle DAC/AMP with 4.4 connection.
I’m planning to use this mainly for work, light Sports, travel and in my car.
Main Source for music atm is amazon music ultimate so flac files.
Cell is a Google Pixle 4XL.

Thanks for your help in advance

2 Likes

What’s your budget?

Personally im a big fan of Bluetooth when it comes to mobile, you pay more but its way more convenient, something like a BTR5 / IFI go BLU is small and portable with more than enough power to use with most headphones. The nice thing about thing like this is if you are using a laptop you just hookit up using USB C and you have a regular DAC/AMP.

if you are going IEM maybe go for something like FIIO TWS / KZ A09 is really nice (though KZ are a lot more pocketable, FIIO kinda “thicc”)

I’m always a little hestiant when it comes to Bluetooth. Are they as good soundwise as cabel connections ?
Budget is relativley open as long as it’s not in the thousands :smiley:

The difference is nearly none existent if at all, so dont sweat it. you can dig through the BTR and IFI threads folks are powering some insanely expensive headphones/IEMs. I use both i FIIO TWS and a BTR5 and they are awesome.
in your cases you have aptX HD so you should be more than fine

cool. Thanks for the infos. Didn’t know what aptX HD was. Just read about it. Sounds good to me.

Are you dedicated to 4.4mm? My top recommendation would be the Qudelix 5K, which has 2.5mm balanced and 3.5mm SE outputs. If you want to stick with 4.4.mm, the new Moondrop Dawn dongle is great.