Portable Amp/Dac for DT770 Pro 250ohm

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the game and need some help.
I want to get the DT770 Pro 250ohm.
And yes i want to use them on the go for my commutes.

I know most people won’t but I don’t mind the looks or long cable. I like the quality of music they produce.
But what I need is a portable Bluetooth amp/dac that I can connect to my phone and drive the cans with.
I had my eyes on the Earstudio ES100. But I am not sure if they can manage to drive the 250ohm version of the DT770s.

Could you let me know if you think the Earstudios ES100 will be fine or if you would suggest another one.

Thank you for the help,
Skitt

1 Like

My ifi Nano BL powered my 770’s ok but not Bluetooth tho…

1 Like

The earstudio might be able to pull it off, but I’m not sure they could fully power the 250 ohms.

Other options will have a price jump though, like the fiio q5 or q5s, ifi xCAN

Something you could consider that wouldn’t be that big of a price jump is a fiio m6. You can use it as a Bluetooth amp/dac and if puts out more power then the es100 unbalanced

There’s some people out there who mod cables btw, can’t remember who but some youtuber has his beyerdynamics modded to have a replacable cable. I would look into someone to do that so that you could get the sound quality of the 250 ohms but witha reasonable to go cable.

So I did a little testing for you and… the ES100 can power the 770 250ohm… but it doesn’t do it very well. You have to have it nearly full tilt and it becomes quite distorted that high. The M6 powered my pair a ton better but I still had to nearly max out volume to get it loud enough (for me) the differences are it didn’t sound nearly as distorted and was a much better listening experience