PS4 Open Back Headphone recommendations

Hi guys,

Recently I did some research on the benefits of open-back headphones for gaming, and came to the conclusion that I need to own a pair. I’m kind of new to this, so I’d like to hear your recommendations!

I’m looking for:

• Open-back headphones

• For gaming on PS4 (Call of Duty)

• Option for attachable mic (need recommendations on mics too)

• 300$ budget (headphone + mic + DAC/AMP)

Note: I only have an old ASTRO MixAmp from 2013

Thanks in advance!

It give a lot of open back.
Do you have take a look what you have see from Phone and Dac?
When you would go away from the Headset.
Buy a good Phone and Dac a seperate mic.

A Sennheiser 6xx or 56xx
Akg K701
Audio technica who is open when it give

For the Dac is only possible when you use the Ps 4 pro because it have a optical out.
The ps 4 slim have no optical out.

Ans for the Mic who have usb plug.
Or when you have the Ps 4 pro an connect via Optical on your dac.You can buy a Mic with 3.5 mm plug and put them into the controller.
This is possible.
But we need more Information of the ps 4 it is a pro or not for a Dac recommand.:wink:

I have a 1st gen PS4!

You will benefit from a a 7.1 dac/amp for action games

desktop wise, something like the Sennheiser GSX 1000 or Sound BlasterX G6 (I have no idea if you can use the USB ports of your PlayStation for powering sound for them) as they can reproduce ambient gaming sounds that you can actually ear from a specific point, amazing for CoD game-a-like :grin:

Regarding open headphone with mic, I truly recommend the Massdrop X Sennheiser PC37X, here’s a review.

If you don’t want that, this article from last February can help you select other brands/models.

Thanks! I’m new to the whole dac/amp thingy, so also not sure if my PS4 can power those haha