Recommend me a DAC/AMP

Hello, I am semi-new to the audio game. I listen through IEM’s exclusively, as full headphones hurt my ears after just very short periods of time. I have been using the FiiO e17k Alpen 2’s for ~4 years now, and it has served me well, but recently it has started glitching and randomly disconnecting from USB. The main reasons I picked it was because it was the only one at that price point with separate controls for treble and bass. I do not care about the portability of it, that was just a bonus. So the only real requirement for me is a DAC/AMP fit for an IEM, with separate treble/bass adjustment and preferably with minimal noise floor.

I have seen other people ask questions like this on other forums, and they just get recommended either some $1k+ solution, or building a schiit stack. Both of which seem extreme overkill for me.

Thanks in advance!

I mean there are not really alot of amp dacs combos in this price range that have separate controls for treble and base adjustment. You can buy whatever combo you want and add a loki to it for that adjustment if you want but again it will be a stack.

Otherwise for IEMs I would recommend a DAP and you could do treble And bass adjustment with EQ instead. That would be my preferred method for this.

Thanks, I forgot to mention, I am willing to go up to ~$400, so the price range is a bit wider.

I would love to use a DAP, but I also watch movies, tv shows, etc, which would mean I can’t use it to consume all the content I do now.

Hmmmm, I would say a chord mojo, but you can’t eq with that unless you eq from your phone or PC, but the mojo preforms very well with sensitive iems

In that case something like a asgard 3 with dac chip and a loki would probably be pretty worthwhile with that budget. That is if you don’t mind being stationary.

I actually have a question regarding DAP’s. Can the USB port on them be used as a “DAC” that is connected to a PC, or is it purely for charging?