Should I get a DAC/AMP if so which one

I’m rather new to good audio. (thanks to a friend) I have been running the SHP9500 with a Vmoda BoomPro mic for the past year or so and I have the X2HR’s arriving today. My question is would getting a DAC or an AMP or a combo be worth while over on motherboard? I mostly use my headphones for gaming, right now I’m mostly playing COD:MW not warzone. I do listen to music sometimes but not often. I also watch TV shows and movies. In terms of sound tone I prefer bass heavy and light highs which is the opposite of what I would need to be competitive. So I figure the best for me would a V shape type sound and if the highs are too much when I am not gaming I could also EQ them a little. Currently I feel like the quality of my audio is being impacted by my motherboard however my friend thinks getting an AMP/DAC wouldn’t help much. I am also running Equalizer APO and HeSuVi with an custom balance EQ set to Flatten out the SHP9500. However I did notice that it makes music more muddy sounding. I’m not sure I am going to continue to use the EQ part of it. If I do get a AMP/DAC I’m thinking about getting the Schiit Hel since it will allow me to upgrade to better headphones in the future and will still let me use the BoomPro. Although at some point I’ll have to decide weather I’m going to go Modmic or a desk mic and I’m leaning desk but that is a discussion for a different time.

System Specs (in case they help)

Gigabyte X570 AORUS ELITE WIFI
Ryzen 7 3700X
EVGA RTX 3080 XC3
Logitech Z323 with sub

I’d go for the IFI zen DAC, mainly for the buttons. the Xbass button gives a little boost to the bass that make stuff a lot more fun.

1 Like

modern motherboards are usually pretty good for easy to drive headphones. but for $200 instead of a hell I would instead get a magni modi stack or a liquid spark stack as thhat will be better value from a future proofing perspective especiallyu if you are not gonna use a vmoda boom pro