SIVGA Robins vs hifiman 400se

Hi looking to add anothe pair of cans at the sub 200 price point and both pf these seem to be getting alot of praise. As it stands all i have is a fiio BTR 5 to drive any headphones but planars seem very alluring just looking for any and all advice!

What do you need

This is like asking ice cream or roasted potatoes.

1 Like

Well i guess i’m looking for something with a different sound profile then I have at the moment i’m just getting into this hobby. At the moment i have fidelio 2xhrs . So on one hand the planars sound appealing for tighter bass response and increased clarity and the robins are said to have great clarity and good bass thump so i guess just if anyone has experiences with either how do you like em ?

1 Like

Don’t have the 400SE, but do have the Robin.

Robin is… idk, weird. V-Shaped, mids are tinny and weird-sounding.

I am currently writing a review on them, and I can tell you that compared to Dekoni Audio’s Blue, it pretty much is comparing apples and oranges. Blue has a tighter, more controlled bass response, whereas Robin has a really boosted bass response.

Robin: a lot of bass quantity at the sacrifice of quality

Blue: not a lot of quantity, benefits from great quality

I’m yet to do the comparison between the mids and highs. But I can tell you that mid-range is more natural-sounding on the Blue, and the highs are much, much more tame.

Blue is a planar-magnetic, so consider this. Blue needs a lot of juice to run well. I had it at 70% on high gain on iBasso DX300.

I returned the Robins basically instantly. They were peaky and muddy. 400se is picky and I wouldn’t recommend them without a pad swap as they need a little help comfort wise and they respond phenomenally well to pad swaps. Thick wide pads give them a pretty massive stage in width, height, and depth and either suede or leather pads will bring the bass up a bit, which they kinda need but not desperately.

1 Like