Speaker Suggestions

Hey everyone,

I’ve been using Vanatoo T0s with a sub woofer as computer speakers for about 3 years since they were a local company and had good reviews I figured why not. But now I realize they are even better than I first thought three years ago. I moved a few months ago and I really need to get living room speakers.

Originally I was going to try some M-Audio M3-8 studio monitors since I really like the idea of a 3 way driver design with a concentric tweeter and mid-range, they had 220w of tri amplified power, room correction on the back, and they were cheap at $700. But they sold out and I don’t think they are currently in production.

I’m working on a DIY speaker build which is actually a super easy build but I want to do a CNC carved front baffle. I’m new to CNC and the design I 3D modeled might be biting off a little more than I can chew so its taking a while. So I’d like to keep the cost low. So around $700 for speakers and amplification if they are passive. I can see going up to $800 and then $1000 if I can forgo a sub woofer for a while.

I absolutely love my Vanatoos and I really can’t think of a better desktop setup without going with substantial bigger speakers that I just can’t fit on or next to my desk. For the living room I don’t have as big of space requirement. Its not a huge room at 15’x20’ at 7.5’ ceilings but the vanatoos definitely struggle. So I’m basically looking for something that will sound comparable just with more volume and a larger room filling sound.