Stack combo/headphone recommendation (2021)

Howdy everyone,

So I know there are A LOT of these post(s) regarding this exact same setup from everyone.
However… I do have a specific reason I’m asking. I’m partially deaf so finding the right setup for such games as Escape from Tarkov would be a great !

I am completely new at stacks etc. I am currently using Astro A50s(I know I’m a terrible person)

My budget is $1000-1200 for headphones/Dac/Amp

I am aware of Falenkors guide (Which is currently being updated) and Mad Lusts. I haven’t had much time to read through all of them as they are… rather large…

Thank you all for your assistance!

1 Like

I should add I’m not as worried about microphones as I have a Blue Yeti Blackout edition(USB).

(although a mod mic is starting to sound appealing)

1 Like

hey FT, welcome to HFG!

first question, what frequency range is your hearing impairment the most significant?

there are headphones that are good at low end, mid-range or high treble…so if you’re hearing is worse at one of those, then we can look at headphones that should be better for you.

1 Like

Thanks for asking I should have added that when I created this post.

I have a low-frequency impairment primarily(reverse slope) in my left ear. I can hear High-frequencies well (enough that I can hear when a old television is on)

1 Like

well then, being you can hear the higher frequencies, the Beyerdynamic DT-800 600 ohm are definitely on point for you. they do need a powerful amp to drive them though.

if we focus on a treble sound signature, then going with a neutral DAC and a cool Amp would do you well. you could look at the JDS Labs Atom stack…or perhaps the Geshelli ENOG / JNOG / JNOG 2 and their Archel2.5 Pro amp.

1 Like

I read about the JDS atoms amp and was highly considering it although I wasn’t able to determine what to go with it.