Starting HTS setup

Hello,

I’m a newb when it comes to Home Theater setups. I would like some information about how best to start my HTS journey. I’m thinking of starting with a 2.0/3.0 setup and build from there. My budget for the base setup (AV receiver or Separates + Speakers) is ~$2,500. I would use this system for Movies and TV (70%) and music (30%). See my planned setup below. My living room is 23x13ft.

• What kind and/or brand of speakers do you recommend?
    Been thinking in the range of Klipsch RPs (tower and/or bookschelf). :thinking:
  • AV receiver, AV (pre-out chan) + Amp or Pre-Amp + Amp and which brand?
    Currently leaning towards Marantz or Denon.

Thanks for any info.

I would tell you to either build a 2 ch setup, or start of with a cheapish sound processor and spend all your budget on front speakers.
You can use very cheap rears, or buy the rest later, your gonna thank me.
Auditioning Speakers is recommended and look for used deals.

1 Like

as a European, I dont have many suggestions for Speakers, most we have here, are European.
But if you can move the Speakers 1-2 meters into the room, get magnepan lrs(or+, I have the og lrs),
a rel subwoofer and a high quality class a/b amp, I use a 1984 ASR Emitter, but if you wanna make lrs work, you need at least a 500-1000 dollar amp for them, the tv processor wont work.
Otherwise, look as mentioned at used deals, or at zu audio, The dirty weekend is very Interesting, I really want one and then maybe a tube amp. The processor, would also power them fine.

The room layout or HT-layout is mainly always a compromise but the corner loaded speakers might not be ideal location, specially if the speaker air ports are behind and close to wall. Before buying check the manual of recommend room location and distances (good ones tell you that).
I would also try to move everything inwards the room, more away from the window corner.

If it’s not possible then i might consider speakers with with front ports.