This hobby is a blessing and a disaster at the same time!

Hello friends. I’m a headphone audiophile noob and just wanted to vent about my feelings regarding this new hobby I picked up recently. Off-topic felt like a good place to do so, apologies if this isn’t the right sub.

Before that though, let me quickly say that I’m also new to this forum, and I’m really impressed by the level of quality across the board. Awesome people, interesting posts, great functionality. I feel welcome. Nice. Thanks!

The world of audio is insane. There is so much subjectivity, it’s driving me nuts! I consider myself a tech nutjob, but I’m used to a certain amount of objectivity in my purchases. I can usually tell if I’m gonna like a mobile device before I ever use it. I can pick CPUs/GPUs based on reviews. I can decide whether to mess with my car’s engine without trying it out first.

But headphones. Oh man. It’s driving me crazy. It’s not the options, I love options. It’s how two people might have completely different opinions about the same thing. Person A will be like “I can’t stand the treble on this”, then Person B will say “treble? what treble? these are great”. Madness.

Granted, I’m a noob. I’m still learning to read response graphs and understand what exactly that means in sound terms, and I can’t really appreciate the difference between my USB-C dongle and a powerful amp (yet), besides having the ability to push more volume. Still, sometimes I wish I could just enter a room with 1000 headphones, dacs and amps and just spend the whole day comparing everything. Living in pandemic world doesn’t help.

In the end, I must admit I love it all. From the endless research, to the stress of making a choice, to the hours of listening and comparing - and enjoying music, let’s not forget that.