Tube Amp Around 100-250$ range

So iv’e been looking to get my first tube amp and I don’t want to heavily invest in case its not my cup of tea, so I’m giving myself a budget 100-250$ (Important to mention I live outside the US so Schiit is a no-go)

From what I’ve seen iv’e only got 2 actual options, the Little dot MKII or go hybrid in which case so far I’ve only seen the positively mentioned is the LOXJIE P20. Iv’e also seen a bunch of odd tube amps on Amazon but iv’e got no idea how good they are.

I got a pretty large selection of headphones most of them on the budget side since I add them as a business expense (I’m a freelancer and Audio gear is an easy expense to explain on my taxes :slight_smile: ), which is also why I’m limiting the budget to keep it on the “DL”

• KPH30I
  • Grado SR80E
  • Sivga 006 and 007
  • Coolermaster MH751
  • Sony MDR 7506 (the only actual one i use for work)
  • SHP9500
  • Sony WH-1000XM3
  • HE400SE
  • Drop 58X
  • Fostex T60RP (stock)
  • Meze Neo 99
  • ​HarmonicDyne Zeus and Helios (the Helios was a gift)

with the list of ho you’ve shared, you can only go hybrid as an otl like the LDmkII is fir high impedance headphones if which none if those are.

take a look at xDuoo, they have a number of hybrid options to consider.

1 Like

Alright, i think the MT-602 looks pretty dope, im just wondering if its worth also getting a balanced DAC and going for the 604 :smiley:

I can vouch for MT-602. Schiit Vali 2+ also worth a look.

As was said, you really don’t have many cans that would be wise for OTL - so you’re looking at hybrids.

1 Like

tangentially related, I too am in the market for a tube amp. Well one that is a hybrid as all my cans are plannars. But I have one more condition. I have a cat, and I’m afraid she’ll stick her face in hot tube, any suggestions for keeping cats away from face burning? also need to find a way to further dissuade cable chewing