Tube Preamp+Power Amp Advice

Looking for advice to upgrade my amp setup. I’m currently using ELAC Uni-fi UB5 with an old Denon DRA-625RA. I feel that the Denon isn’t fully bringing out my Elacs, but it does sound good, a step above what i i had before (Klipsch 1.1) BUT i was looking for upgrades. I have no experience with tube amps and power amps. At the most($$$) I was looking at Schitt Saga + and Emotiva A 300, or even the Denon with the A300. Just looking for some opinions and guidance. Thanks!

Edit: I have a topping Pa3 that i tried with the Elacs and it was “meh” compared to the Denon, I also have JDS el DAC and JDS Atom Amp(AKG 712 pro) which could be added to my setup. I use xbox one and Ipad for music/movies/games

So personally, I think something like a schiit saga + and a used parasound would be pretty dang sweet imo. Perhaps find a newclassic 275 v2 or 2125 v2 and you will be in business imo. There are also a ton of nice vintage power amps to choose from as well

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Do you have any experience with Parasound or Emotiva? What would be more important, power amp or tube amp?

I really like parasound stuff, I have a few of their amps (you can check my profile if you want to see what I currently own)

Emotiva stuff is also pretty nice too, the a300 has pretty good bang for the buck imo. Personally I think the parasound is a bit more refined sound wise than emotiva, but either emotiva or parasound would be satisfactory.

So I think the power amp would be more important for a quality upgrade, but the tube preamp would introduce the most difference into the system by running it through a tube

1 Like

Awesome, Since the Elac can handle a lot of watts I was thinking Emotiva…but if Parasound has a better refined sound i might be leaning towards that plus a tube, Thanks Again

1 Like

Yeah it should be a nice upgrade no matter which one you go with :+1:

1 Like