Tubing IEMs for mobile use

I’m getting the Little Bear B4-X (per Z’s recommendation of course) and I’m planning to use it mobile. I currently have Tin T2’s and Fiio FH5’s for mobile use, getting the Tin P1’s when they ship this week as well. I don’t how how any of them will react to being tubed, I’ve heard that planars don’t respond well to tubes. Was wondering if anyone has experience they are willing to share about tubing the T2’s or balanced armatures like the FH5 has. Looking to start a conversation about people’s experience tubing IEMs (with an emphasis on mobile use)

2 Likes

I have no experience with this, but I think it will be nice to learn about! Keep us/me informed, you might start a tubular revolution :wink:

Tubes can be effected by devices that transfer signals like mobiles and routers etc, so it will be interesting to see how otg works out :+1:

So the thing with Planars is they are low impedance. Tube amps are usually good for high impedance gear. Hence why the HD600 work well on a good tube. IEM’s in general are low impedance.
The problem is potential noise. You usually want your output impedance of your amp to be 1/8th the impedance of your headphone/earphone.
So there is potential for noise to be heard on a low impedance IEM

The other reason Planars usually don’t do so well on tubes (or at least the sentiment that they don’t) is the power requirement. Planars sometimes peak at needing quite a bit of power. Most tube amps can’t provide say 1 watt.
This is obviously not a problem for efficient planars though.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Is the Little Bear a hybrid tube amp? Not very familiar with the model. If it is a hybrid then one should be alright to use with an IEM since the power of the amp isn’t being ran through a tube. Just speculation of course, and I don’t have any experience AB testing with a hybrid vs true tube using IEMs that are as sensitive as the P1s.