Uncommon time signatures only

While I do love good old 4/4 and 6/8 and such, I feel there’s a whole other world of possibilities and feelings that exists outside of those time signatures. I’ve been craving more of that in my daily listening.

Here are a few examples of what I’ve been listening to…

Braxton cook - The Gospel (Take #5) || 7/4

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - The River || 5/4

Analogue Dear - Rivulets || 7 bars of 5/8 + 1 bar of 6/8, chorus is just 5/8

Levi Niha - Eleven Eight || 11/8

Sungazer Album Vol. 1 || chaos

Sungazer Album Vol. 2 || magic

walk. - seagull. || 5/4

Jacob Collier - Hideaway || yes

Shubh Saran - Slip || 4/20

4 Likes

An old standby for bizarre time signatures. Probably one of the greatest jazz albums ever recorded. In my opinion anyway.

4 Likes

The original works too but I just like this version better

2 Likes

7/8 timing…they say. I’m not an expert on such things. The shtick is:

Once a Mr Beat I only missed a beat (song skips a beat)

3 Likes

Also, to my mind an unexpected addition to the thread because I never really took the song seriously

Try to focus just on the drums. It’s almost schizophrenic the way it switches constantly

2 Likes

Pretty cool song, love that band. The beginning is cool and you can really go with the 7/8 by listening to the drums

1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and 1 and 2 and 3 repeat

click(1), click(2),click(3), click(4), click(1), click(2), drum roll(3)

1 Like

Yeah, the Gizz is a great band. They are so incredibly versatile. They do mellow acoustic jazzy stuff, psychadelia, prog, stoner metal, thrash metal, blues and boogie, and do it all really well. And their experiementation with microtuned guitars has been really cool too.

1 Like

Yea lol, when shuffling i love when it stumbles on their heavy stuff haha

1 Like

100% Agree

1 Like

Nice submissions so far. Here are some:

Cleanup - Cruiser

Piglet - Bug Stomp

Gulfer - Doglife

Indian - Rhetoric of No

Palm - Egg in a Frame

3 Likes