Upgrade advice for amping Arya/Clear

Hey all I’m new here,

So I’ve been using HE-400i for about 6 years as my daily driver, with DT770 used rarely and HD598 occasionally for gaming. These are driven by a modi 2/magni 2 schiit stack.
I’ve already sprung for considerable upgrades in a pair of used Focal Clears and an open box HifiMan Arya. After a bit of research I bought a matrix audio mini I 3 pro because of its crazy feature set and supposedly very good DAC. I am a bit worried though that the amp included in the mini I 3 pro will not have the power drive my headphones properly, specifically the Arya.
I have yet to receive any of this new gear but I am curious what others think.
I have seen the violectric v280 recommended for by m0n for both these headphones, so I may have to save for that. Also have seen the liquid platinum recommended for the Arya but how would that pair with the Clear?

Thanks for any input and late Merry Christmas!

3 Likes

Welcome to HFGF, and congrats on the new gear! I don’t have the Arya or Clear, so can’t speak to the specific pairing, but do have the V280 (for sale since I upgraded to a V281) and did have the Liquid Plat. I also had the Elex, and have Elegias as well. I do think Focals play nicely with Violectric more so than the Liquid Plat, if for no other reason than the V280 has gain control through the pre-gain dip switches on the back. The Liquid Plat does not, and because of how efficient Focals are, you don’t get much play in the volume control as a result. That combined with some of the unit variance in volume pot quality in the lower volume ranges means that unless you have a variable output on your DAC, you could run into some channel imbalance or jumps in volume that make it hard to find the right listening zone. Aside from that, the Liquid Plat is a great amp, and multiple members here have thought enough of it to recently start modding by upgrading caps and such besides just tube rolling.