What do I need to know before I build my first HiFi system?

First off, I want to know whether I should or shouldn’t invest in some HiFi equipment. I will be listening to music on them for 90% of the time. I like to listen music loud sometimes, but I usually keep it to a normal volume. I listen to ‘new era’ metal (deathcore, slam, tech death, progressive metal, etc…) and electronic music (dubstep, house, hardcore, etc…). I have multiple options for my main music library device, but I think that I would like to use my PC as the main source. What set up would you recommend? Should I just use a decent pair of studio monitors for my PC instead? Also keep in mind that although I am a musician (drummer) I have no idea what any of the technical specs mean (Ohms, crossovers, impedance, etc…) so does that bar me from properly using/understanding a HiFi setup?

If you’ve made it this far, I’m looking at 3 different setups right now that are local and insanely priced…

https://www.definitivetechnology.com/products/bp6b $175
https://www.definitivetechnology.com/products/procinema-600-system $250
https://morentzaudio.com/morentz-mz7/ $200 !!!

help me <3
thanks(:

1 Like

Two good speakers are going to beat 6 not so good ones.

Welcome. :slightly_smiling_face:
I think Maze is right here, 2 good speakers would be better than 6 okay speakers.
My questions would be, what is your budget, and what type of sound signature do you like? Bassy? Neutral? Bright? V shaped?

What is your budget for the entire setup?

For speakers, Just based on the music selection, JBL studio 530’s on sale would be a decent choice. If you need more volume/bass impact get the tower versions. I’ve listened to these in a simple system with an older vintage adcom amp and they sounded nice.

we need price first

also dont spend money on expensive cables

Fluid Audio F4 could be something.

Has a front 3.5mm (3/8" jack) to plug in a phone on occassion and does not cost too much for a first dip into speakers.