770 Pro's Going out - Bought 6xx's - Looking for some advice

I’ve been using DT 770 Pro 80 Ohm since 2017, with a Schiit Magni 2/Modi.

The right ear on my 770s is rattling in bass frequencies which is driving me insane. I’ve reached out to some repair sites and possibly this will get resolved. (If its >$80 I’d consider it worth to repair)

In the meantime, feeling a desire for something new I bought 6xx’s from Drop for $220. They are, as everyone says incredible for everything, but I find myself seriously missing the sub bass from the 770 pros.

I’ve seen people recommend the Sundara, but I can’t really find if the sub bass in Planar’s would be as satisfying as the 770 pros. One issue is budget, I’m reluctant to justify the +$130 for the Sundara’s when quality control issues are as widespread as they are. If they really are that big of an improvement then I can swing the cash.

The 58x’s are mentioned as having more bass, but I don’t think they’d compare to 770 Pros. Am I wrong?

I could see myself getting use to the lack of sub bass, but I’m hoping I can get a cheap repair done on my 770s, or I might find myself just buying another pair for $150.

Bit of a ramble, but I really appreciate any advice.

2 Likes

Sundara is capable of good bass extension and responds to EQ, however…

I’m going to guess that these will also fall short of your 770 aim. That’s a pretty deep v shaped frequency response.

1 Like

I appreciate that.

I’m thinking of keeping the 6xx, try to repair the 770s, and save up for some 1770s in the meantime.

Would I have any reason to buy a different amp/dac?

You may want to consider looking into DT177X instead of DT1770.

I can’t find very many direct comparisons, so I’m not sure what the $150 difference is.

Hang on a second, the technical ability of the Sundara far exceeds the DT-770.
And the 1770s sound the same as the 770 - the price increase is in the quality of materials.