About tubes for a noob - Tube Amp Help

I have been getting into the audio hobby over the last couple of years. I have enjoyed the learning process and the journey to listening to high quality music. However, I am still new to this hobby. I have been using the THX AAA 789 as a headphone amp, balanced of course. However, I keep hearing how experiencing audio through a tube amp can be quite enjoyable and also a different experience.

The problem being I don’t know if a tube amp is right for me. I say this as I hear that you really need to have high impudent headphones. I also often hear that tube headphones create a “warm” sounding music. I enjoy listening to detailed music and enjoy airy highs. I wonder if going to a tube amp would not be enjoyable to listen to this type of music.

Headphones I currently have may also not be ideal to run on a tube amp as well. I currently have a Focal Elex, 58x, and a HD 598 (my first headphone before I knew what I was doing). From what I am hearing none of these headphones would truly benefit from a tube amp. However, I am new to tube amps and this hobby and would love some clarification and help. Feel free to also suggest headphones and tube amps that pair well. I know that the HD 600 is the benchmark. I just don’t want to lose the highs and detail that I so love.

Your help is much appreciated.

What price range are you looking at? The entry points for quality tube amps is generally the Bottlehead Crack w/ Speedball upgrade, Shortest Way 51+, Hagerman Audio Labs Tuba, Feliks Echo, Cayin HA-1Amk2, or the new Quicksilver. Most of those are $500-1000.

You are correct your current headphones aren’t very tube friendly. You should look into Senn 600/650/6xx or the 600 ohm Beyerdynamics like DT880 or T1.2. If you want to spend more most ZMF tube well and the Senn HD800 series does as well.