Absolute noob needs speakers

Hi all,

After having spend a year reading and trying out headphones and IEMs, I am pretty content with the collection I have now. However my TV is still hooked up to a JBL soundbar that is terribly mono and it annoys me that my girlfriend is always listening to music on them. So I am looking for a set of speakers to connect to the TV, but which are mostly used to listen to Spotify through the Chromecast with Google TV.

Due to the aforementioned quest into IEMs and headphones I am pretty much broke. I was looking at either getting some active speakers like the Edifier R1280, R1700 or R2000 (which are all in an outlet so relatively cheap) or getting passive speakers with a A/V receiver. I saw some Dali 505’s and Jamo S426’s.
Since I know nothing, absolute 0, about speakers, I have no idea how these would compare and what the best option would be for me. Should I look for active or passive speakers? Are any of the things I mentioned any good?

Thanks

Budget? It is a good place of reference

I just managed to find a good deal on a AV receiver, so I am only looking for passive speakers now. I’m mostly looking used for about €50-€100 and I’m located in The Netherlands. I mean I can save up to purchase something more expensive, but I have no idea how it would compare. For instance the Q Acoustics 3020i’s are +/- €250 here (new), but since I have 0 idea how these compare to the Dali’s or the Kef Q5’s I don’t know where to start looking.

Many rave of the Micca RB42 but not sure if available there. Or Polk audio or Klipsch? bookshelf or floor standers?

Leaning towards floor standers, but quality is more important to size and loudness. Micca is not available where I live. Polk and Klipsch are, but they are usually quite expensive. Looking at new, R-51M is €280 for a pair, Jamo S803 €270.
Basically everything mentioned on the forum I can’t find for sale (at least not second hand) and everything I can find, I can’t find any reviews of.