Advice for headphones upgrade, 250$

Hello,

I’d like to ask for some advice on open back headphones. I currently own the Sennheiser 598SR and I find them just ok. I’m no expert by any means but, while super comfortable, I feel like voices have good clarity (which I like) but the overall sound is a bit flat and boring. It’s like they lack sparkle. I’d like for something that is more fun while keeping clear voices (I don’t want them muffled).

My usage is 60% gaming and 40% music.
I don’t play multiplayer games, I mostly enjoy Rpgs and action Rpgs with good soundtrack (like Nier: Automata, Persona 5), visual novels and immersive sims (Prey, Bioshock).
I listen to most genres (in order: indie, pop, rock, lofi hip hop, jazz, orchestra, classical) but I don’t listen to metal at all.

My budget is around 250 for the headphones and, if suggested, I’m open to spend more for a dac/amp. I’m located in Italy, so even if Massdrop is an option, I’d like to avoid headphones with well known quality control issues since returning them would be quite the pain.

Thanks for your help!

1 Like

DT 880 600ohm paired with a Magni 3+ would work well…Schitt have an EU site and the 880’s can be had off of Amazon :+1:

5 Likes

This was gonna be my recommendation also

2 Likes

That sounds like a pretty great pick :+1:

2 Likes

Just gonna throw out the Fidelio x2 hr excellent for single player game imersiom has a laid back very bassy sound signature.

3 Likes

Thanks for all the suggestions!

I could buy DT880 for around 200 from Amazon. Would they be better than let’s say, a 58x for what I would listen to?

If I go with DT880, I can get:

• Magni3+ from Schiit Uk store for 150 shipped
  • Jds Atom for 150 shipped

But I guess I would still need a Dac, right?
Otherewise, there’s the Fiio K5 pro at 180, shipped.

Fidelio X2HR seem interesting and I could have them for 99$ which is quite cheap. Do you think voice in music will sound clear enough, coming from a 598?