Advice on buying Hifiman Sundara Vs HarmonicDyne Zeus

Howdy, audiophile community!

My name is Dr Bernard Shaw, I’m a Psychiatrist from Boston. I have popped up serious question on purchasing two different types of headphones. Since I’m a beginner in audiophile journey can you help me in picking up which headphones in open back category could I benefit much for enjoying lossless music listening from Tidal & Qobuz. I have designed budget allocation under $500

It would be great if you can help me pick between Hifiman Sundara & HarmonicDyne Zeus?

1 Like

Welcome! What specifically draws you to those two headphones? What kinds of music do you enjoy and what are you plugging them into (your source chain)?

1 Like

Hello there, thank you for taking a moment in helping me.

I have a iFi Zen DAC. It would be my primary source which I’m planning to plug the above headphones into. The reason I have picked up the Sundara is because it is in my price range and found out its a beginner audiophile headphone.

Lately I found out there is another headphone in that price range which I’m confused which is a better option to buy.

I listen to soft rock, guitar acoustics, blues, Jazz, electronic a bit.

Sundara would be a great place to start, for sure! So did you already purchase one or both? Are you looking for specific features? Both of those mentioned are open back, one being a neutral bright planar, the other being a v shaped dynamic driver. The Zen may power the Zeus better, as Sundara are more demanding, but if you’re using them balanced out of the 4.4mm output, it should handle them pretty well. Depending on some preferences, there may be some other recommendations in your price range, like a 58x if you’re really into jazz vocals. They’re more intimate, in your head sounding, and fairly neutral warm toned with a mid focus. They’d work well with your music preferences and are easy to drive and pair with amps.