An amp for JBL 530

Hello, I am new to speakers and tried to be spontaneous by buying a pair of jbl 530’s since they are on sale.

I am trying to find a good way to power them whether it be with a amp or reciever or whatever. I have gone to a store and asked but they all tell me different things. I would prefer to spend around $300.

I was looking at this onkyo reciever but again no idea haha. https://www.bestbuy.com/site/onkyo-tx-7-2-ch-hi-res-4k-hdr-compatible-a-v-home-theater-receiver-black/6194119.p?skuId=6194119

I think I will have the speakers on my desk so if the amp is big I would put it in the closet.

Thanks!

Do you already have a dac, or would you need one of those as well?

It’s the legendary M0N replying to me!
I don’t have a DAC, mine stopped working.

Gotcha. For an all in one, it’s probably out of stock everywhere but the Denon pma600ne is pretty sweet for the price, sounds great, would be the most refined sounding imo

Something more compact for the desk might the emotiva basx a100, and you could buy a dac like a topping d10 or smsl 100, would be a strong, warmer, and punchy sound (but perhaps lack some detail and control)

Going even smaller and cheaper, you can get a pretty nice looking stack with the topping pa3 and topping d10, which would be clean and accurate (but might be a bit lean or lack body at times)

For something tiny, all in one, and will get the job done, the smsl sa300 does it all for a good price lol (somewhat similar sound as the pa3 and d10 combo but a bit less resolving)

Regarding the topping stuff, just be careful if you go that route as at the moment there are fakes floating around under the name of aimpire or something

6 Likes

Damn, that is an IMPRESSIVE recommendation list and spot on for the budget! You really never cease to amaze me @M0N :+1:

4 Likes

Ya these are fantastic recommendations! I saw you recommend the pma800ne to someone else, but thought there might be a couple more options.