Any closed-back headphones under $300 that are better than the DT770 pro?

I’m in the market for a closed-back headphone, but I’m also considering buying either the HD58X or the HD6XX alongside it depending on how much I spend on the closed-back I’m buying, and that brings me to my main question: Are there any closed-backs out there under $300 that are substantially better than the DT770 pro, enough so that it would justify buying them instead of a DT770 pro + either the HD58X or the HD6XX?

I’m completely new to this stuff, so I have no idea what I should expect. I don’t have any problems with the DT770 pro, I just find it strange that that’s the only recommendation I’ve ever got even though my budget is twice its price. I had the chance of trying it out a few months ago at a friend’s house, and the applied EQ wasn’t really to my liking so my test ended up being inconclusive (and I didn’t like the non-detachable cables either). I’ve never listened to an open-back headphone, so I can’t say I have much of a preference regarding that either.
I plan to buy a JDS atom+OL DAC combo in the upcoming weeks.

Regarding my taste in music:
-Here’s where it gets complicated. There are only two quality headphones I’ve ever listened to that might give you an idea of what I might like, and those are the Takstar pro 80 and the Takstar pro 82. I didn’t like the pro 80 out of the box at all, especially the highs, while I could see myself listening to the pro 82 without changing much via EQ.
-My time spent listening to music is split between several genres, in a ratio of 40% pop, 20% electronic, 20% film scores 10% rock and 10% metal. I prefer music with female vocalists, and I’m a sucker for music with overwhelming highs in them, but I can’t listen to them for longer periods of time if they are too sharp or shrill. I also really like my bass with a cup of tea that I spray all over the place as I headbang.