AT-M40x, AMP/DAC Questions

Hello everyone, this is my first time on this site. I’m looking for some advice and I expect to sound highly uneducated around the topic of audio, so please bear with me.

I’m looking for a wired pair of headphones, main uses are for gaming and music. My current and currently dying headset is the Logitech G533; random crackling & sound cutout are part of the reason why I’ve spent all day looking up a new pair of headphones.

I stumbled across this video from Z Review and am highly interested in giving this a try with the extra parts recommended in said video.

However, I have no idea if I’m going to need an AMP or DAC. Why? I’ve never owned/used one before. My first headset was a terrible Plantronics headset, then I moved to Logitech Gaming headsets from there until today. Still don’t have a good idea on why an AMP or DAC is needed, I’ll probably need hands-on experience to actually get it.

Am I going to need an AMP or DAC for this? I play games like CSGO, Modern Warfare 2019, Battlefield 4, Doom 2016/Eternal and various music. If so, anybody got any tutorial links on understanding which one is right for my uses?

Thanks.

Welcome! Hope you have a good time here. There’s lots of really good people on here and you can find tons of information on here.

I recently started my journey and here’s what I started with that totally changed my world and the way I hear everything from music, to games, movies and everything in between.