Best Budget Headphones around 200$?

So I’m new to the audiophile scene. I’ve recently been looking up videos and reviews of so many headphones and things. I love music, so I want to take my listening experience to a higher level. I was planning on buying the Sennheiser HD6xx from Massdrop for 220$, but, I’m not sure if those are the best, considering they are hard to drive and I would need more money for an amp. So I came here to ask what are some good recommendations to help me direct my research
thank you

1 Like

try out the 58x cheaper and easy to drive .

2 Likes

are they the best option though?
I wanna make a good purchase with my money you know

What are you going to plug it directly into? Phone, PC, or an Amplifier (amp)? If you plug directly to a “device” the 6XX will be low volume, and you may not be happy with the sound. If you have an Amp, it will sound incredibly better as well as be louder with the volume. (Good amps start around 100)

The 58X has great sound, and will play connected to a phone, computer, which is otherwise “easy to drive”.

2 Likes

im planning on buying an amp as well but that was gonna be a whole other thread because I wanted people to respond. but I am planning on buying an amp but I don’t have one now. I’ve been looking at 100 dollar amps but idk how to tell if they can output 300 ohms for the 6xx or not

The “best” headphone will change per person. I listen to a lot of EDM so the sennheiser HD series isn’t a good match but it might be the perfect set for you. It would help to hear what you expect to get out of the set: neutrality, bass, treble, “all-round”, etc. Music choice will make recommendations easier for us!

2 Likes

I listen to almost everything! which is hard to find headphones that make everything sound good. I listen to everything from edm to jazz to rap to movie soundtracks and orchestral arrangements. I didn’t include what I listen to because honestly I don’t think it’ll help