Can someone explain OP-Amp Rolling?

Hey guys, as the title might suggest I’m a bit of a noob in the audio world. I came across a cheap balanced amp called the E-600 that has been rebranded by several companies including Nobsound. It offers 3 different opamps which makes the price change dramatically. Can someone tell me in plain, simple English what the difference an OP-amp change can do? For example: will different OP-amps change the output impedance; will they change the THD at any point, etc. I heard some burson opamps can dramatically help the budget Topping amps and could never find out why or how. The three opamp choices are: NE5534, MUSE8920 and the MUSE02. Thanks for any help, this hobby has more layers than I ever thought possible!

The v5i op amp is really good imo, like it is really analytical. Is it worth the cost, sure if you like to tinker. Again it will make whatever you use,more resolving, but at a cost. Also it is more power hungry in my experience so expect less output. Soundstage is good, but highs can be sharper compared to a stock op amp.

Thank you for that reply, that helps a bit for sure. Could you tell me if the impedance can or is changed by changing to a different op amp, and are opamps usually soldered or are they hot-swappable?

I looks like you came across one like this one used by @FireLion44 which as you can see is a boss when it comes to this.

They aren’t soldered, but I would probably power off the unit before swapping op amps, so I would not say they are hot-swappable either.

1 Like

Most are soldered but ones that talk about rolling are using a socket the op amp is installed in like a tube for a tube amp etc. No impedance change as far as I’m aware, could be wrong though. They are not universal as well too so try to research since others have likely experimented with a given unit.