Complete beginner in vinyl

im iinterested in vinyl and wanna learn about if i want to get into it. could anybody show me which youtube channels show and teach about it for me to start.

there aren’t a ton of vinyl channels that I know of but Darko and Guttenberg have vinyl specific episodes from time to time.

I listen to about 50% vinyl so if you have any general questions I can try to help.

Vinyl Engine & Audio Karma have good/vibrant vinyl communities that can provide support.

I would also suggest looking at local classifieds to find a nice used TT for $250 - $400 as an entry level to ensure that you like it.

Schiit Mani makes a nice entry level phono pre for $100.

Get to know a local audio electronics / repair shop and they will have good insight on what is good and not. I found a local guy that gets gear from time to time as people are looking to clear out their dead grandparents stuff. You can get screaming deals on great equipment you just have to be patient.

I also have a great record shop near me where I can get vg+ stuff for ~$5/record in their loose bins. I wouldn’t go out and spend $100’s on records just but 10-20 records of stuff you know/like to see if you want to really get into it.

1 Like

Would you recommend the U-Turn Orbit turntable?

Any phono preamp recs? Been talking to my friends in Vinyl, but they’re all speakerheads, so headphones connected to a turntable are anathema to them.

I have a bunch of vinyl albums from record hunting in college with my roommates, so would like to get a chance to use them again.

Phono - https://www.schiit.com/products/mani