Endgame Speakers

I’m still in the kicking tires phase still but have been researching my potentially endgame speakers.

When I started this quest, the Buchardt S400 was the target. Since then I’ve had the chance to chat with a few reviewers who preferred the S300 mkii se so I added that one.

But then it occurred to me I’d have to go beyond my $2k soft limit. So now I’m at $4k. Once I expanded I have been sort of obsessed with the Spatial M3 Turbo S. I have no experience with OB so my first curiosity was the bass. I like a balanced sound (leaning warm) but lots of my music is bass heavy.

The system I am building will be all Odyssey amplification
Khartago (110 wpc class AB solid state with excellent current throughput).
Candela tubed line stage
Suspiro solid state phono stage
Current speakers are Focal 807v (which I like other than their bass)

My living situation will probably involve constant shrinking of my area so I had been leaning heavily toward bookshelf/stand mount so I can stay agile.

I spin vinyl, playing lots of classic punk and reggae, 80’s and 90’s alt, metal, a touch of jazz and lately a ton of experimental/power noise and black ambient/ritualistic music.

I really do NOT want to have to run subs. I’ll have the ability but I really want to avoid it.

I’d love some suggestions to research

Thanks

4 Likes

And…subscribed.

Not missing a word of this!

Bowers & Wilkins 800 series would be on my shopping list for that kinda money

1 Like

Thanks. The BW 805 D3 seems interesting but at $6k it’s out of range. Curiously though BW seems known for being light in the bass from what I read.

Can you expand more on why you nominate the 800 series? I’m genuinely curious.

Sorry, im not good at forums :smiley: