Entry Level DAC/Amp Combo or Stack

Hi all,

I’ve been monitoring the headphone space for a few years purely based on fascination but only recently decided to start taking it seriously as a hobby! I own a couple entry level pairs of cans like the SHP9500s, Fidelio X2s, ATH-M50s (sorry, first purchase back in 2013, and they are quite poor), Beoplay H9i, and most recently the Nighthawk Carbons.

For about 5 years I’ve been using my Logitech Z623 speakers as an “amp”, but am more interested in a dedicated DAC and amp setup. That being said, I’ve been watching a lot of Z’s, Josh’s, and DMS’s video reviews of mid-fi to HiFi products, and have set my eyes on the Argon Mk IIIs as well as the DT 1990s, alongside other headphones that can really benefit from a DAC and amp.

My budget, which is flexible, is somewhere around the $200-$300 range. I wouldn’t mind something biased towards analytical or fun, but ideally I’d love something in the middle that could push the power needs of headphones I’m interested in buying (Argons, for example). I’ve looked at a couple items like the Asgard 3 as well as the JDS Labs Atom (and eventual DAC), but I’d rather follow someone’s guidance one what’s best out there for my needs. For reference, I listen to all sorts of music, except for modern pop country. EDM / Drum 'n Bass / Rap are usually my go tos.

Thanks!

For what you have, I think something like the jds labs atom and topping d10 is pretty sweet imo, should be more than plenty for what you need. But be careful with the d10 right now, there have been some fakes floating around

I didn’t see the argons, my bad. With the argons I think getting the asgard 3 with the ak dac might be the best bet imo

3 Likes