Hd6xx dac or amp?

Hey guys, I’m new to the HIFI audio space, I just recently bought a pair of hd6xx and i’m looking into getting either a dac or an amp or a combo. Im currently looking at the Schiit Fulla 3 but I’ve seen mixed options on if a DAC or AMP make a bigger difference (on a budget). I plan to eventually get a Schiit Modi 3 and pair it with a Schiit Magni, but for right now I want to focus on what would provide the greatest imporvment for ~$120. Should I go with the magni 3 and just use my computers built-in DAC for now? or should I focus on getting a better DAC? or would a combo work fine until I can split it up? Is there a better DAC/AMP/Combo for the price?

Any advise is greatly appreciated
Thanks

So, personally I would actually say grab a solid amp and use your motherboard or phone as the dac for the time being and get a solid dac down the line. What type of sound are you going for? Typically in the budget realm the order of importance tends to be Headphones > Amp > Dac (but this does vary depending on the specific setup). Built in and integrated audio has greatly improved from the past, and now imo the amp will make a larger difference in the budget realm. When you get to the higher end of audio (I mean pretty dang high end), I would actually say Headphones > Dac > Amp, but that’s mainly for high end

3 Likes

Yep amp x2 :+1:

1 Like

So Im not super sure what kind of sound i’m looking for, like i said im new to this space, still learning alot. I guess currently im just looking for an overall better audio experience, I need to play around more with various things to figure out a more in-depth definition as to what im looking for.

Now that being said, do you think the Schiit Magni 3+ would be a good step? or do you have another recommendation?

1 Like

That would be a very solid pick (the 3 isn’t good, but the 3+ is really good lol)

1 Like

Ok, so then 3+ or the Heresy? or are they too similar to make a difference?

4 Likes