HD6XX or HD600? considering price difference

Hi all!

Just going to start off with acknowledging that this is a long standing debate between which is better, I am also very new to hifi audio. I already have a pair of DT990 pro’s and was looking for something with a much different sound signature, something that really represents vocals and mids very well, something more intimate and beautiful compared to my DT’s. I enjoy the bass on the DT’s although the treble is a bit too much for me at times and without a whole lot of comparison the vocals sound a little far away at times.

My music preferences vary greatly, although I mainly listen to Rock/metal, with a hint of pop/hip hop/classical.

I already have an AMP that I use with the DT990 pro’s, I use a Fiio K5 pro which does a fantastic job, powers them really well.

Now to get into the business, I recently discovered that Drop ships the HD6XX to Australia, considering the conversion rate that would cost approximately $300 AUD, the HD600 on the other hand is $450 AUD. For my musical preferences which would be better, also considering the price difference.

Thanks all!

the 6xx is not Drop’s version of the 600’s…it’s their version of the HD650. just making sure you’re aware of this detail.

1 Like

Yes sorry! I am aware, I should have clarified that. I’m wondering which one would be a better choice, knowing that they have a slightly different sound, as in, for my musical preferences and what type of sound I want, would the HD600 or the HD6XX/650 be a better choice taking the price into consideration

1 Like

Though I prefer the HD600 a touch more than my 6xx, I would have a hard time not recommending to save $150 here. My comfort/aesthetics pref probably matters just as much here.

However, for your sonic goal, I think the 6xx may also be the better choice. Though these differences are small overall.

1 Like